Perth Scottish Fiddlers

is a mixed aged group in the Scottish tradition, whose members meet monthly to learn and play together.

The group meets in the Warren Lake Hall, Woodlands Reserve in Teakwood Avenue, from 3-5.30pm on the last Sunday of the month. There is also a beginners class at 2pm for players who are new to Scottish music, new to learning by ear or would like to take things a little slower!

 

Meetings involve learning new tunes by ear, with printed music provided for home practice. Ability to read music is not essential. Basic ability to play the violin is essential, however! If you would like to learn to play the violin please contact our director on the contact page.

Membership is open to players of violin, viola and cello interested in Scottish music. Younger players are also welcome. There may be limited openings for accompanying players; cellists and guitarists are welcome to contact the director.

We present a number of performances each year at different venues and festivals as well as hosting workshops and regular informal sessions.

The founder/director of the group is Margaret Schlink, a local violin and viola teacher with a passion for Scottish music. She currently teaches violin and viola privately, conducts adult beginner group classes and has a Masters Degree which focused on adult group violin learning. She has played viola and violin in various orchestras, and fiddle/viola in Scottish groups Trio Fáilte and Hot Toddy.

Dates for 2021

Sun Jan 31

Sun Feb 28

Sun Mar 28

Fri Apr 9 - 11 Fairbridge Festival

Sun Apr 25

Sun May 30

Sun Jun 27

Sun Jul 25

Sun Aug 29

Sun Sep 26

Sun Oct 31

Sun Nov 28

Dec - tbc

 

 

 

 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • skinner_edited

©2018 by Perth Scottish Fiddlers. Proudly created with Wix.com